Procrastination/Improvisation

16 Sep

My years of schooling have provided me with plenty of opportunities to learn material across a multitude of subjects, but the things that I’ve managed to master are procrastination and improvisation. I procrastinate on everything from homework to laundry. I had a particularly difficult time focusing on statistics, which did not have much to do with my whining stomach, but I took it as the opportunity to engage in a more enjoyable activity.

An exchange with my roommate after making the decision to cook (procrastinate):

“Baked or mashed?”

“Potatoes?”

“No, brains. Yes, potatoes… Baked or mashed?”

“Mashed.”

“Do you eat pork?”

“No, I’ve never touch the stuff, are you kidding? That’s gross.”

“Are you serious?”

“Is bacon considered pork? What kind of a stupid question is that?” I promptly forgot that he eats bacon on an absolutely disgustingly regular basis.

I paused.

“… So you can eat pork chops?”

Dinner comprised:

boiled potatoes, butter, milk, garlic and salt. Broccoli. Pork chops, salt, pepper. And for the pan sauce… apple cider vinegar, chicken broth, Pinot Noir, maple syrup, brown sugar, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, cranberry juice, red pepper flakes.

Improvisation.



Leave a Reply

