Did it again

11 Aug

I bought another cookbook, and I’m swimming in them. My next project is to get through these books, exploring recipes and cooking for an audience I usually don’t cook for or ever care to: myself. My actual practice of cooking has always been about making other people happy. Food is what makes me happy, but I owe it to myself. If I ever want a restaurant, my skills had better be honed, my passion genuinely ignited, and the only way to do that is to spend some quality time in the kitchen, alone, for me, self cooking, I am my chef. This is especially true since I am facing the fact that my housemates will be finding other places to live.

On a lighter note, my newest cookbook is Big Small Plates, by Cindy Pawlcyn. It isn’t a newly published one, but I adore the concept of small plates, and finding this book was like uncovering the secret to culinary happiness and fulfillment. Look at this gorgeous cover!:

And I discovered in this moment that it is an autographed copy. Holy. Crap.

Potato-Leek Pancakes with Sour Cream and Chives, Roasted Artichokes with Tarragon-Basil Dipping Sauce, Spiced Ahi Tuna Sticks, Dungeness Crab-Sweet Potato-Corn Fritters, Asparagus and Shiitake Spring Rolls, Smoked Duck Spring Rolls with Sweet-and-Sour sauce, Miso-Glazed Beef in Lettuce Cups, Baked Goat Cheese and Tomato Fondue, Salmon Halibut and Scallop Ceviche with Coconut, Braised Portobello and Porcini Mushrooms with Spiced Flatbread, Rabbit Tostadas with Cumin-Scented Black Beas and Lime Creme Fraiche, Mini Duck Burgers with Shiitake mushroom Ketchup and Chinese-Style Mustard, Fried Green Tomatoes with Spicy Remoulade, and that’s only the beginning.

This is too good to keep to myself. Screw cooking alone. Someone should come over and cook with me. Who wants to?

Leave a Reply

