Ich liebe dich, Schmidt

5 Oct

It’s been a very long while since I’ve had German food, but I really do love smoky sausages and spicy mustard. I love cheesy, herby egg noodles. I love potatoes.

This is a meal at Schmidt’s, a German restaurant in the city. On the plate is really yummy sauerkraut, a smoked wild boar sausage, sweet and spicy mustard, potato salad, and to accompany the table is a plate of spätzle.

The sauerkraut, “sour cabbage”, had whole peppercorns which added a lovely kick. The sausage was masterfully grilled, hearty, explosive with savory flavor. The mustards were tangy and wonderful; the spicy one went straight for my nose, the sweet one sat happily on my tongue and were great compliments to the sausage. The potato salad was one of the best I’ve ever had– they topped the boiled red potatoes with chives. I love chives! Little bursts of lots of fresh, oniony goodness. I can’t believe I’ve never thought of that before.

Spätzle is a type of soft egg noodle native to Germany and Austria; the word literally translates to “little sparrow”, which I thought was cute. It was just the ultimate comfort: pan-crispy on the outside, chewy and soft on the inside, seasoned with parsley and melded together with cheese. Beautiful.

This was the exact meal that turned me onto German cuisine, and I’ll be going back for more!


2 Responses to “Ich liebe dich, Schmidt”

  1. Jnish October 12, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    That food looks absolutely delicious. I don’t even think that they sell sausages on this island! Let alone chives! love you! miss you!

    • jenn October 13, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

      No sausages? No chives? You poor poor island creature. I’d swim miles to provide you with these delicacies but alas, my weak limbs can’t take me across a swimming pool much less all the way to Tahiti. But I love you all the same. We should go to Schmidt’s when you return. Miss you toooo!

Leave a comment